Roundup

Best text-to-speech apps for Mac (2026)

Short answer: for reading anything on screen with on-device voices and one payment, Aloud ($19 once). For the same texts on your phone and Mac, Speechify. For a deep, accessibility-first library reader, Voice Dream. For a quick Kokoro voice on selected text at no cost, MoxSpeak. Aloud is our app, so weigh that, and check the table.

Updated 14 October 2026.

How we compared

Price model, whether the voices run on the Mac (offline), how PDFs are handled, text recognition (OCR) for scans and screenshots, word highlighting, bringing your own cloud voice key, and whether you need an account. Prices and features checked on each company's own site on 14 October 2026. They change; check before you buy.

Comparison table

AppPriceOffline voicesPDFsOCRWord highlightYour own voice keyAccount
Aloud (ours)$19 once per MacYes (Apple and Kokoro voices)Yes, skips headers, footers, page numbersYes, on deviceYesElevenLabs, CartesiaNo
SpeechifyBasic plan at no charge; Premium $29/month (yearly billing is cheaper)No for Premium voicesYesYes (Scan & Listen, Premium)YesNoYes
NaturalReaderBasic tier at no charge; paid AI-voice plansNo for AI voicesYesPaid plansYesNoFor paid voices
Voice Dream ReaderSubscription (App Store)YesYes, skips PDF headers and footersYes, on deviceYesNoNo
ElevenReader10 hours/month at no charge; Ultra $11/monthUltra downloads onlyYes (Ultra skips headers, footers)Not statedYesNo (it is ElevenLabs)Yes
macOS Speak SelectionIncluded with macOSYesReads everything, headers includedOnly selectable textYes, when the app supports itNoNo
MoxSpeakNo charge (source-available)Yes (Kokoro, built in)Reads selected textNoNot statedNoNo

The apps

Aloud

Best for: reading whatever is on your Mac screen. Select text in any app and press Control-Option-S, open a PDF (running headers, footers and page numbers are skipped), read a screenshot or scan with on-device text recognition, or pull the article from the front tab of Safari, Chrome, Edge or Brave. Apple voices, the Kokoro neural voice on Apple silicon with macOS 15, or ElevenLabs/Cartesia with your own key. Export to .m4a. No account. Limits: Mac only, no phone app, no library sync. $19 once per Mac after a 3-day free trial.

Speechify

Best for: one library across phone, browser and Mac, with many cloud voices and AI summaries. Limits: an account is required, the better voices are in the cloud, and Premium is a subscription ($29 a month on speechify.com, less per month billed yearly). Aloud vs Speechify.

NaturalReader

Best for: a web app and Chrome extension with many AI voices. Limits: the better voices are on paid plans with character limits. Aloud vs NaturalReader.

Voice Dream Reader

Best for: blind, low-vision and dyslexic readers who want a full library reader with VoiceOver and braille support, EPUB, DAISY and Bookshare. Limits: a subscription is required. Aloud vs Voice Dream.

ElevenReader

Best for: ElevenLabs voices and audiobooks on phone and web. Limits: no native Mac app, audio can't be exported, and listening is metered by hours. Aloud vs ElevenReader.

macOS Speak Selection

Best for: occasional reading. It is built in: select text and press Option-Esc. Limits: no OCR, reads PDF headers and page numbers, no place-keeping. Aloud vs Speak Selection.

MoxSpeak

Best for: a natural Kokoro voice on selected text, at no charge, from the menu bar. Apple silicon and macOS 14. Limits: it reads selected text (or the clipboard) and has no window, so no PDF, OCR or article reading. It sends anonymous usage counts unless you turn them off. Aloud vs MoxSpeak.

Which should you choose?

Students and dyslexic readers

Look for word-by-word highlight, speed control and OCR for worksheets: Aloud, Voice Dream or Speechify. See reading apps for dyslexia on Mac.

PDFs and research

Aloud or Voice Dream, both skip running headers and footers. See reading scanned PDFs aloud.

Privacy and offline

Aloud, Voice Dream, MoxSpeak and Speak Selection keep voices on the Mac. See offline text to speech on Mac.

Most natural voices

Cloud voices (ElevenReader, Speechify Premium, or Aloud with your ElevenLabs key) or Kokoro on device. See natural-sounding voices.

Lowest cost

Speak Selection and MoxSpeak cost nothing. Among paid apps, Aloud is $19 once. See text to speech without a subscription.

Questions

What is the best text-to-speech app for Mac?

It depends on the job. Aloud ($19 once) for reading anything on screen with on-device voices; Speechify for a cross-device library; Voice Dream for accessibility depth; MoxSpeak or Speak Selection at no cost for selected text.

Is there a good Mac text-to-speech app without a subscription?

Yes. Aloud is $19 once per Mac, with a 3-day free trial. MoxSpeak and the built-in Speak Selection cost nothing.

Which Mac text-to-speech app works offline?

Aloud with Apple or Kokoro voices, Voice Dream, MoxSpeak and the built-in Speak Selection all read without a connection.

Is the built-in Speak Selection good enough?

For occasional selected text, yes. It does not read scans or screenshots, and it reads PDF headers and page numbers.

More Mac utilities from the developer: SnapState puts your Mac windows, apps and browser tabs back after sleep or a monitor reconnect. $9.99 one-time.